NBF Hall of Fame

Oct. 21, 2019

AABB’s National Blood Foundation (NBF), established in 1983, serves the fields of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies through grant making, educational offerings and industry leadership engagement and recognition.

The NBF will induct three new members into the NBF Hall of Fame at the 2019 AABB Annual Meeting in San Antonio, TX this week. The Hall of Fame recognizes the lifetime achievements of researchers who leveraged an early-career NBF scientific research grant into a successful career in transfusion medicine or cellular therapies. 

This important recognition was reinstated annually in 2015 inducting one to three new members each year. There are four criteria potential members must meet: 

  • Must be an NBF Scholar: completed NBF funded research.
  • Must have served on three or more AABB committees or workgroups. (AABB Board of Directors, NBF/NBFRET Board of Trustees and TRANSFUSION Editorial Board included.)
  • Demonstrates a successful career and exemplary leadership through commitment, forward thinking, and various contributions to the field.
  • Must be a current AABB Individual Member.

2019 Members include:

  • Neil Blumberg, MDNeil Blumberg, MD, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Director, Blood Bank/Transfusion Medicine, University of Rochester Medical Center 
  • Brian Custer, PhD, MPHBrian Custer, PhD, MPH, Vice President, Research and Scientific Programs, Director, Epidemiology and Health Policy Science, Vitalant Research Institute, Adjunct Professor, Laboratory Medicine, University of California San Francisco
  • Beth H. Shaz, MD, Chief Medical and Scientific Officer, Executive Vice President, New York Blood Center, AABB President-Elect

NBF introduced its Hall of Fame in 2007 recognizing a prestigious and select group of NBF grant recipients who leveraged their early-career grant funding into successful careers in transfusion medicine, cellular therapies, or patient blood management and who demonstrated exemplary leadership within the field. 

Visit AABB.org for more information about the NBF Hall of Fame